Kite Flying

You’re the part of my life

that I need to know will be OK.

My limb I lost

that teeters, torn,

fills me with love

and pain and scorn.

You’re the part of my life

I wanted to stay,

but instead became a kite,

drifting away.

A hot air balloon

that burned and crashed

a full-bodied mirror

that swelled and smashed.

A nuisance enigma,

a constant questioning: why?

A burned bridge still swaying,

an illusion that tries

despite the kite drifting

and the fire that dies.

You’re the part of my life

that I need to know will be OK

the bridge that keeps burning,

the kite that can’t stay.

One response to “Kite Flying

Leave a Reply

