Perfect Pop Song

You say we need to talk

you call it up one night,

I say OK, OK let’t talk,

but talking leads to fights.

I’m the one that’s crying

with words stuck in my throat

you’ve got one foot out the door,

so cold you’ll need your coat.

And she likes everything you say

and she likes everything you do

it’s like every single word you say

is fresh, brand spanking new.

I see your face as you two talk

and remember that smile

it’s the smile you used to give when

words weren’t needed through the night.

We used to speak with eyes

now you say ‘I need some space’

you talk of feeling trapped now,

your eyes close like your closed face.

I try to open up to you

I try to open up

but doors are slammed and words get choked,

when challenged I close up.

And she likes everything you say

and she likes everything you do

it’s like every single word you say

is fresh, brand spanking new.

I see your face as you two talk

and remember that smile

it’s the smile you used to give when

words weren’t needed through the night.

I didnt try so hard with this

I didn’t try hard enough with us,

I’m defeatist and the weakest,

when challenged I close-up.

I want to open up to you,

I want to start again.

I want to be your lover,

I don’t want to be your friend.

And she likes everything you say

and she likes everything you do

it’s like every single word you say

is fresh, brand spanking new.

I see your face as you two talk

and remember that smile

it’s the smile you used to give when

words weren’t needed through the night.

L-O-V-E-R

L-I-K-E-R

We could have gone so far.

We could go so far.

And she likes everything you say

and she likes everything you do

it’s like every single word you say

is fresh, brand spanking new.

I see your face as you two talk

and remember that smile

it’s the smile you used to give when

words weren’t needed through the night.

When words weren’t needed through the night.

Leave a Reply

