Read Me.

I was informed today that the great Art Garfunkel (I say great because he is world renowned, not because I am an avid fan of his music and excellently curly barnet) not only walked across America, but also made a monthly note of all the books he had read for decades. I found this interesting because I myself am an avid reader and thought I too would make a note of all the books I have read, and thus in the rules of the six degrees of separation would practically be Garfunkels best mate. Or someone who just reads a lot of books and needs to get out more.

Without further ado, the books I have read this year so far are:

Yes Man (Danny Wallace makes me want to say Yes more in life, but not to adopting a load of Grannies or to buying all my mate drinks on a night out, or to buying a car I don’t need)

Freak The Mighty (Halfway through reading, about a really tall misfit and a disabled kid who become friends)

Children of the Flames, Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Children of Auschwitz (At times a little over the top with demanding sympathy for the Jews. Would have packed more punch sticking to the facts rather than adding in cliches. Still, made me cry my eyes out a few times and taught me a lot that I didn’t know about World War II)

Apples (Effing Dreadful story about a load of idiot kids on an estate who do drugs and have no emotional growth in them whatsoever regardless of rape, GBH or baby murder)

The Pianist (Beatifully written story turned into a film starring that bloke who snogged Halle Berry when he won an Oscar)

Most Evil Serial Killers (Trashy, poorly written encyclopedia which is overly obsessed with sodomy and sex crime)

The Last Family in England (Charming story of a labrador who believes he can save his family from the tragedies and temptations of modern life through following the code of dogs)

Across The River and Into the Trees (Hemingway gives us more of his to the point post war drama and tragedy)

There are a few more but I gave them to my sister and can’t remember. Needless to say I like reading, and as much as I enjoy the quaint graphics of my super nintendo I would much rather use travelling time to learn more through reading than having another game of Mario Kart on the D.S, or trying really hard to work out what 2 +2 is on that maths game they always get D list celebs to play while on planes or in the back of cars for their adverts when everyone knows they would really be snorting another line of coke up the crack of some bimbo air stewardess. That’s real life.

Leave a Reply

